One Plus One = Ten

One Plus One = Ten!

Some books, you just gotta love….especially if you’re drawn to quirky characters, and mismatched people thrown together in hopeless situations. Jo Jo Moyes’ latest bestseller, One Plus One has the characters, the weird coincidences and lots of twists and turns that make it an irresistible page turner.

You’ll meet Ed who’s about to be arrested for insider trading. And Jess who cares as best she can for her math genius daughter, and her eyeliner wearing stepson constantly beaten up by neighborhood bullies. Because her husband has gone off to “find himself”, Jess is working two jobs and is short on time to spend with the kids and even shorter on money. Ed has money, but no friends and an uncertain future. The paths of Jess and Ed do, of course converge, but believe me, it’s not a cute meet.

Somehow Moyes made it plausible that a computer nerd and a desperate mother who have barely would squash themselves into a car with two children and a large farting dog and head off for Scotland and a math Olympiad. There are many rocks in their road. Ed has to drive way below the speed limit to keep Tanzie, the math genius, from getting carsick. Jess is prickly about accepting favors. The dog never stops drooling.

I cheered for these characters,I laughed out loud,and even shed a tear or two as I went on the journey with them. I stayed up past my bedtime because I couldn’t put the book down. And even when I finished, I had to go back and revisit some of my favorite sections. I pronounce this book lovable….let me know if you agree.

Leave a comment

Filed under book review

Leave a Reply

